top of page
  • Writer's pictureFrank Waters

NYC State Of Mind Forever?

Keeping the guards up for a lifetime or just a season?

This New York City state of mind is not just a song or a phrase, it truly is a life style. I was born and raised in the south Bronx of NYC and lived there until I was 39. Being in the area of which I grew up gave me an understanding that may have provided me a variety of characteristics slightly different than other parts of the city. However there are still some traits that we all share. The transit system alone puts one in a mindset that keeps you constantly in motion, weaving crowds, searching for directions, thinking ahead and scanning numerous amounts of people per second. It's a extremely fast paced environment and the crowds that exist will trample you if you are not able to quickly implement your city reflexes. Then there's your living space where your neighborhood can challenge you to survive or live. With the policing situations, poverty and lack of many things there really isn't much to be happy about. Most people from where I grew up were constantly challenged including myself and had the so called, "angry look" on. It takes a lot of self work to change that look and a strong mind set to get to a more productive space.


I wonder at times what would life be like if I was raised in the suburbs or on an island? When does the guard let down? Is everyone out to get you? Is she a con artist or can she really do that? As a city person these are the questions that you live with. Eventually you begin to trust folks more but it still lingers in your mind by default I believe. I think my favorite part of the city mentality is the hustle. The ability to accomplish tasks swiftly in pure focus regardless of the obstacle. This is one part of the NYC state of mind that I will keep forever. There, I just answered my own question. These blogs are also therapeutic for myself as well. Thanks for reading and I hope it gave a you a better insight of one NYC mind.

Where did you grow up?
17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page